Life and politics from the Sunshine State's best city

Peggy O’Shea, Rene Flowers to lead Pinellas School Board

in The Bay and the 'Burg/Top Headlines by

Peggy O’Shea will chair the Pinellas County School Board for another year.

O’Shea was chosen to retain her chairmanship of the board during an organizational session Tuesday. Rene Flowers was chosen to be the vice chair.

The session also saw the swearing in of two new board members, Joanne Lentino and Eileen Long, and one returning member, Carol Cook. Lentino holds the District 1 at-large seat. Long holds the District 4 seat; Cook, the District 5 seat.

O’Shea was elected to the school board in 2006 and re-elected in 2010. She served as vice chair of the Board in 2007-08 and 2013-2014. She served as chair in 2008-09.

Before her election, she was appointed by the governor to serve as chair of the Early Learning Coalition of Pinellas. She has served on the Choice Reform Task Force and several district task forces and School Advisory Councils. O’Shea is a member of the executive board of the Palm Harbor Area Chamber of Commerce.

Flowers was elected to the School Board in November 2012 to finish the term of Lew Williams, who passed away while in office. Flowers is a native of St. Petersburg, attended Howard University and University of South Florida; and, is a graduate of Eckerd College. She formerly served as a member of the St. Petersburg City Council. She served as the council’s vice chair 1999, 2006 and 2016-2017 and as chair for two consecutive terms, 2000 through 2002. Flowers also served as president of the Florida League of Cities from 2006-2007.

Latest from The Bay and the 'Burg

Go to Top